1. Hello and welcome to the brand new home for PlayDota!
    Please read through our Welcome thread to see what's new!
    Dismiss Notice

Want to learn some programming languages, help!

Discussion in 'Tech & Programming' started by TheArsonist, Oct 9, 2016.

1. TheArsonist

TheArsonist Member

Apr 26, 2015
    Hello, I'm currently interested in learning C# (for games) and Python (for animation). Perhaps LUA too in hopes of creating a DotA custom game in the future.

I have some experience with Visual Basic, Pascal, JavaScript and HTML/CSS from the past.

Anyone with experience to guide me on where to actually begin? There's too many choices around that I guess I can just pick one and follow through but some preliminary advice would be appreciated! :D

:cat:

2. Blarrg

Blarrg Member

Jun 12, 2009
    It all depends on what you're interested in. You've mentioned games, but do you have any interest in coding as a career?

3. TheArsonist

TheArsonist Member

Apr 26, 2015
    Not as a career really. Mostly, as a hobby. My aspiring career path involves animation/video making. I believe coding is a nice fit and considering I already have a (small) coding background, it will make the learning curve less steep.

4. ALooseMoose

ALooseMoose New Member

Oct 8, 2016
    Coursera.com has free college-level courses that you can take, Khan Academy also has lessons with several different languages.

5. dewouter

dewouter Moderator Staff Member

Oct 27, 2009
    If you want quick results I'd say go for lua in Dota, it requires some basic programming and you'll learn quickly and you will see your results.

6. iser

iser Member

Jun 10, 2009